Glenn Loury
The Glenn Show
John McWhorter – The Best of "The Black Guys" 2021
22
0:00
-1:26:00

John McWhorter – The Best of "The Black Guys" 2021

22

It’s been a big year here at The Glenn Show. So as 2021 draws to a close, I thought it would be a nice idea to round up some choice selections from the conversations I’ve had with John over the past year. This episode is a kind of “best of” compilation of segments that got a big response from viewers or that I personally thought were important or noteworthy. I couldn’t include all of the highlights, but I think these clips give a good sense of what my conversations with John were all about in 2021.

I must also offer my thanks and gratitude to everyone who read, listened, watched, and commented this year, and especially to those of you who continue to support TGS by subscribing to this newsletter. We wouldn’t be able to do it without you. So from the bottom of my heart, thank you!

I’m sure I left out things that regular viewers think were worthy of inclusion. What were some of the segments that resonated with you over the last year? What caused you to think, changed your mind, or made you laugh? Post ‘em in the comments!


This post is free and available to the public. To receive early access to TGS episodes, an ad-free podcast feed, Q&As, and other exclusive content and benefits, click below.

Share


0:00 A special “thank you” from Glenn

6:23 Race and classics (June 18)

18:20 Maintaining domestic tranquility in the face of political differences (March 22)

36:06 The “badass motherfucker” problem (April 19)

46:31 An “aria” on free will and community (July 2)

51:04 Responding to “Simone” (November 19)

56:18 Glenn: “I was wrong” about Trump (January 22)

1:09:37 Reflections on Obama's legacy (October 1)

1:18:32 Finding hope amidst wokeness (November 19)


Share

22 Comments
Glenn Loury
The Glenn Show
Race, inequality, and economics in the US and throughout the world from Glenn Loury, Professor of Economics at Brown University and Paulson Senior Fellow at the Manhattan Institute