Glenn Loury
The Glenn Show
Hamish McKenzie – Speaking Out in an Age of Partisan Rancor
5
0:00
-57:16

Hamish McKenzie – Speaking Out in an Age of Partisan Rancor

5
Transcript

No transcript...

This week my guest is, technically, me. Back in October, Substack co-founder Hamish McKenzie and I happened to be in New York City at the same time. We took the opportunity to meet at the Manhattan Institute’s recording studio, where Hamish interviewed me for an episode of his fantastic podcast The Active Voice. He’s generously allowed me to share that episode with you here.

In the course of the conversation, we touch on the difficulty and necessity of understanding all sides of a political issue, even when we think we are sure of our own position. We talk about the heightening of negative partisanship as a new, seemingly dominant political strategy. We talk about how the advent of podcasting and social media have changed my way of engaging with the public. And we get into the relationship between my lived experience and my politics. This, of course, leads us into a conversation about my memoir-in-progress (it is progressing!) and how I’ve been trying to understand my own passages through “the valley of the shadow of death” in my life.

Substack has become a vital part of my professional and intellectual life over the last couple of years, so I was very happy to be able to sit down with one of its founders for this brisk, rich conversation. Enjoy!

Join Discord


Featured Content from City Journal

“The United States has a problem with persisting racial inequality. But affirmative action isn’t the remedy for this problem. It’s a distraction.” Read my cover story for City Journal, now available online.


0:00 Why Glenn does The Glenn Show

13:02 Glenn: “If I was going to vote for Trump, I wouldn’t tell you”

19:21 “The cat is out of the bag” on election denial

25:45 Modeling epistemic modesty

31:12 Why is race such an important issue for Glenn?

39:13 The Old Glenn and the New Glenn

45:46 Confronting the past

50:44 Putting “the funk” on the story of your life

Recorded October 27, 2022


Links and Readings

Hamish’s podcast, The Active Voice

Emily Oster’s Substack

Robert Wright’s Nonzero Newsletter

Nonzero’s YouTube channel

Matt Taibbi’s Substack

Matt Taibbi’s book, Hate, Inc.: Why Today’s Media Makes Us Despise One Another

Braver Angels

John McWhorter’s book, Woke Racism: How a New Religion Has Betrayed Black America

Benjamin Crump’s book, Open Season: Legalized Genocide of Colored People

Glenn’s Quillette piece, “Unspeakable Truths about Racial Inequality in America”

Glenn’s first Bloggingheads appearance, with Joshua Cohen in August 2007

James Q. Wilson’s book, Thinking about Crime

Rafael Mangual’s recent TGS appearance

Andrew Sullivan’s Substack

Alex Berenson’s Substack

5 Comments
Glenn Loury
The Glenn Show
Race, inequality, and economics in the US and throughout the world from Glenn Loury, Professor of Economics at Brown University and Paulson Senior Fellow at the Manhattan Institute