Glenn Loury
The Glenn Show
John McWhorter, Carol Swain, Sabrina Salvati, LaJuan Loury & Joshua Cohen – The Election So Far
12
0:00
-1:08:11

John McWhorter, Carol Swain, Sabrina Salvati, LaJuan Loury & Joshua Cohen – The Election So Far

12

Normally you’d have a new conversation with John McWhorter and me today. But it’s summer vacation time, and I was with my family down on North Carolina’s Outer Banks at the time John and I normally record. There’s work and there’s life, and I didn’t want to interrupt my precious time with my wife, children, and grandchildren. John and I will be back with a brand new conversation for you next week.

This week, my team put together a show gathering clips spanning the last year in which I discuss the election with my guests. Surveying these conversations with John, Carol Swain, Sabrina Salvati, Joshua Cohen, and the lovely LaJuan Loury, I’m struck by how prescient some of them now feel. For example, back in February, Biden dropping out of the race seemed like a good idea to me, even if it was unlikely to happen. Turns out all it took was one catastrophic debate performance to topple a sitting president. In these clips, my guests and I cover the case against the Democrats writ large, Trump’s rising popularity among black male voters, Biden’s weaknesses as a candidate, that notorious debate, and the “DEI candidate” label as applied to both Kamala Harris and JD Vance.

Join Discord


This post was released on Monday to paying subscribers and is now unlocked. To receive early access to TGS episodes, an ad-free podcast feed, Q&As, and other exclusive content and benefits, click below.

Share


Sign Up for City Journal’s Newsletter

City Journal provides rigorous analysis that allows you to reach your own conclusions, rather than rehashing ideologically “safe” talking points. Explore it for yourselves and sign up for their free newsletter today.

Sign Up Now


1:32 Glenn's intro

3:10 Glenn's case against the Democrats

14:06 Why is Cornel West running for president?

18:58 A black, conservative defense of Trumpism

25:29 A leftist analysis of Trump's rising popularity among black men

30:45 Glenn's early call for Biden to step down

36:25 Trump's debate style

41:36 Glenn: Biden is a “singularly uninspiring” political figure

49:11 The presidential debate post-mortem

55:45 The “DEI” candidates


Order from Amazon

Order from Barnes & Noble

Order from Bookshop.org

Discussion about this podcast

Glenn Loury
The Glenn Show
Race, inequality, and economics in the US and throughout the world from Glenn Loury, Professor of Economics at Brown University and Paulson Senior Fellow at the Manhattan Institute